A weekend in Jozi

A lot of people complain that there is “nothing” fun to do in Jo’burg as far as extracurricular weekend activities go. It’s a metropolitan area with no mountain to climb and no sea to swim in. People seem to think that all we have to offer are blinged out malls and frustrated drivers.

Well, I hate malls but that doesn’t mean my only other option is to twiddle my thumbs at home and binge on series. I’m happy to say there is a lot to do in Jo’burg over a weekend and here are some of my favourites

  • Saturday Parkrun in Delta Park. I like Delta Park because it’s free, close enough to home, I can take my dogs and the park users are really friendly. It also helps that I get Vitality points. There are many other Parkruns in JHB and surrounds so find one that’s close to you and join the fun. It’s worth getting up early for.
  • Brunch at a cosy restaurant. So many eating places in Jo’burg have amazing food and great atmosphere and so dinning is a firm favourite past time for many Jo’burgers. Brunch is one of my favourite indulgences so of course I go out to find the perfect breakfast lunch combination out on the town. Post a Parkrun, Husband and I often end up at Craft because there food is good, their service friendly and they allow dogs. I couldn’t really ask for more. Other favourite brunch places are Salvation Café, Knead, and Grand Central. They are all slightly different but they all have a relaxed atmosphere and good food in common. These are all quite close to home so while these are my top choices I am sure there are lots of other amazing places in Jo’burg. Check out your neighbourhood and find “your” spot and do some people watching over delicious food. My mouth is watering just thinking about Brunch.
  • Visit a food market for brunch or lunch or to top up on some artisanal food products.  Maboneng has a great food market on a Sunday. Everything is stuff your face on the spot delicious. The Sheds is also a fun place to get some food and they’re open till late over weekends so you can even stop for a drink and listen to some live music. Neighbourgoods in Braamfontein is also a popular option on a Saturday but do note that it’s always very busy.
  • Sundowners is not something I do often but it’s a good option for a Friday or Saturday night. Neighbourgoods has a nice roof bar and The Factory also has a roof with a view and a craft beer bar. Churchills is a good bar to relax at on a Friday after work. They offer a cigar lounge feel while you sip expensive drinks and enjoy their free harvest table fare.
  • Maboneng is a great place to eat but also shop for local art and clothing. It’s an eclectic place in the heart of the city. There is a lot to do in the precinct. Check it out.
  • Picnics under an African Sky are a lot of fun. Packs some snacks and head out to Emmerentia or Delta Park for a relaxed afternoon. Both parks are also great to take the dogs and yourself for some exercise over the weekend.
  • The Wilds or Melville Koppies are other good places to get some walking done in the city.
  • Of course, braaing under a South African sky is the ultimate pleasure of living in Africa. So set up the braai, invite some friends over and just have a jolly good time.
  • Braais are great but dinners out are also sumptuous. Early dinners at Hundsons on a Sunday make me really happy as they play good rock music and their burgers are absolutely delicious. We went to The Supper Club at Coobs recently and that was pure indulgence. It’s pricey but worth it a 100 times over. The food is scrumptious and the service amazing. The wine fabulous. If you don’t have the budget for Supper Club pop into Coobs. I haven’t been there* but the food also looked great and I’m sure the good service spills out into there as well. Other great options for dinner are Croft & Co and Stelle , both in Parkview. There are sooooo many places to choose from – find your favourite.
  • If partying is more your thing go down to Braamfontein on a weekend evening. Here the bars and mini clubs are spilling over with fabulous people and you’re bound to have a good time.
  • The Theatres also show a variety of great shows. Check them out and choose something to your liking

So, that’s my list. Yes, I like to eat a lot, it’s totally a pastime because going to a pub or restaurant gets  you out the house and you can indulge in some sunshine, good service, great food and great company. At least I also exercise in the outdoors. What do you like doing in JHB? (If you even mention an Expo I’ll delete you

Update* I have now been to Coobs and the food and atmosphere there is also really good. The Supper Club lifts their menu off the Coobs menu and both are equally good. Go to Coobs for casual dinning, Supper Club for a special occasion.

Leave a comment